Got an iPhone? Don’t wait another second to update important privacy settings

Our iPhone gives us all the convenience we could possibly need, right? It gives us access to a map when we’re lost, access to the internet when we want more information and even access to social media when we’re bored.

What you may not realize is how much information you share with others that you may have forgotten. Apple’s got a useful new feature called Safety Check, which will walk you through what you’ve shared, with whom, and how to revoke access. If you ever felt that someone was tracking you, be sure to check these settings.

What is a security check?

If you recently updated your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software, you will notice the new security verification feature that comes with the update. Security Checkup was created by Apple for users who feel their personal safety is at risk whether it’s stalking or harassment.

Kurt “CyberGuy” Knutsson Compares iPhones on “Fox and Friends” September 7, 2022.
(Fox News)

When Security Checkup is enabled, it allows you to choose who you share information with. It also restricts Messages and FaceTime on iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes Apple ID password and more.

How to flip the camera and zoom using the face

When Security Check is enabled, it allows you to choose who you share information with, restricts Messages and FaceTime on iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes Apple ID password and more.

When Security Check is enabled, it allows you to choose who you share information with, restricts Messages and FaceTime on iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes Apple ID password and more.
(CyberGuy.com)

Where can I find Security Scan on my iPhone?

  • Go to the Settings app
  • Scroll down and select Privacy and Security
  • Scroll down and select Security Check
  • What apps use security scanning when it’s enabled?

The following apps will stop sharing information with people you have restricted once security verification is enabled:

  • health
  • residence
  • Shared calendars
  • Location shared using Find My
  • joint notes
  • Shared photos (including shared library and shared albums)
  • When enabled, what information does it stop sharing with Security Check?
  • When Security Scan is enabled, it will remove any data collected by the following apps, networks, and features:
  • bluetooth
  • calendars
  • camera
  • Contacts
  • files and folders
  • health
  • local network
  • Site services
  • Media and Apple Music
  • microphone
  • Movement and fitness
  • Pictures
  • remind
  • Search
  • speech recognition

How to send unwanted calls directly to voicemail on your phone

What features are available in Security Scan?

Security Scan comes with three main features.

1. Emergency reset

The first feature to look at under Security Checkup is emergency reset.This is available to anyone who wants to instantly reset access to all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with your Apple ID.

  • Your location will not be shared in Find My
  • Your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
  • The Messages and FaceTime app on your iPhone will be restricted
The first feature to look at under Security Checkup is Emergency Reset.  This is available to anyone who wants to instantly reset access to all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with their Apple ID.

The first feature to look at under Security Checkup is Emergency Reset. This is available to anyone who wants to instantly reset access to all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with their Apple ID.
(CyberGuy.com)

Click for KURT’s online newsletter with quick tips, tech reviews, security alerts, and how-tos to make you smarter.

2. Manage participation and access

If you only want to limit sharing with certain people, you can selectSharing and access management.This will allow you to customize which people and apps have access to your information.

This will allow you to customize which people and apps have access to your information.

This will allow you to customize which people and apps have access to your information.
(CyberGuy.com)

3. Quick exit

Finally, if you need to quickly hide information you’re setting up within the Safety Check app, all you have to do is tap the Quick Exit button, and it will save any changes you’ve made and immediately return you to the Safety Check home page. No one will be able to access your changes at this time.

With the Safety Check app, all you have to do is hit the Quick Exit button, and it will save any changes you've made and instantly bring you back to the Safety Check home page.  No one will be able to access your changes at this time.

With the Safety Check app, all you have to do is hit the Quick Exit button, and it will save any changes you’ve made and instantly bring you back to the Safety Check home page. No one will be able to access your changes at this time.
(CyberGuy.com)

Click here for the FOX NEWS app

Once you click Manage sharing and access, it will take you to your contact lists, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.). You will then be allowed to choose who and what you want to share your information with. All your actions will be saved, and you can always come back to the Security Check later and change your action.

Quick tips and tools for your iPhone can be found by searching for “iPhone” on CyberGuy.com.

Copyright 2023 CyberGuy.com. All rights reserved. CyberGuy.com articles and content may contain affiliate links that earn commission when purchases are made.

#iPhone #Dont #wait #update #important #privacy #settings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *